From Trash to Treasure

Standard

I have known my dear friend Sheila for over 40 years.  She is THE Garage Sale Queen.  Queen of buying and selling. One time one of her nieces was getting married and her bridal shower was being held in the front yard at Sheila’s cottage.  Sitting on my porch, I heard someone say, “Whoever wins this game gets to go out in Aunt Sheila’s garage and pick out a prize!”  Her garage sales are notorious.

So on my trip to California last year, I drooled with envy at the way my cousin had organized her bracelets and necklaces.  I just knew when I got back to my cottage, I could run next door to Sheila’s and she’d have one of these for me to refurbish.  She didn’t disappoint me.  Take a look:

Image

Isn’t it a beauty?  Just one of those things you hang coffee mugs on.  It was originally orange with yellow flowers on it but hubby helped me spray paint it white.  What do you think?

And while I was in Sheila’s garage, I also snagged an old chalkboard.  A few fresh coats of chalkboard paint and a freshly painted chalk tray (turquoise, of course) was all it took.  See for yourself:

Image

If there’s anything in particular you’re looking for, let me know.  I think Sheila will have it!

Jilly Bean

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

